Sarah Connor Inspired Fitness Resources

While I work towards being cleared to lift again, I thought I’d post some on the workouts I’m not doing yet. Possibly some useful links for me to refer back to. There is a ton of pins on Pinterist and tons of one time discussions of Sarah Connor as a fitness role model, so I am mostly sticking with things I really think are helpful. I already have two blogs similar to what I’m doing here on my blog role to the right. One thing I noticed about them and about some of the blogs where Sarah Connor is mentioned once is that they seem to have fizzled. Of course, that doesn’t mean that they aren’t sticking to it, just that they aren’t blogging. I hope if I give up one or the other it’s the blogging.

When T2 came out, back when magazines were still mostly paper, there was a piece in one, I don’t remember which one, that had a workout based on Linda Hamilton’s What I do remember was that the article with it was pretty much “yeah, we love Sarah Connor’s arms and really want them but not really, because that’s too much muscle.”  Now I do get, maybe not then but now, that a regular person isn’t going to be able to train 3 hours a day, as this article says Hollywood’s eating and exercise plans are special effects, not diets. But I still don’t want to workout for less muscle but for as much strength as possible. Still it was a starting point then  and it looks like that is what is posted, although it doesn’t mention the magazine on Marital Arts Planet forum. At least it is basically what I remember. It’s what I started with back then, it’s what I’ll start with now. However, due to some other reading, my current recovery,and, I suppose, my age, I am going to start with only one set of the first part in the very beginning and then go from there.

There is also this site called The Sarah Connor Charm School that has a “curriculum” that I think I’m going to at least partially go by. It lists fitness and marital arts but also survival training. And I am already covered in the liberal arts part with my college degree. I may if I get really brave make contact with this. I want to see if I can stick to it awhile for myself, though.

One of the women who does this is a personal trainer and has done blog posts there on general fitness ideas. She even introduces this as This Fitness Program will make you look just like Sarah Connor a Stronger You. Which is exactly what I need to remember! Again, this isn’t about special effects for a movie but getting stronger for life. This goes on for four blog posts covering strength, cardio, and flexibility and isn’t a program as much as basic concepts.

Here are a few tips someone gives on working towards those chin-ups, Channel Your Inner Sarah Connor. I will probably do a post on various advice given on this once I have enough strength to really worry about it.

I also did find this which oddly leaves out any back work at all but I suppose you’re supposed to add it to your chin-ups? I might add in this sort of thing too as I go, though. One thing the Charm School trainer talks about is variety, after all.

Leave a comment